The Beaver Hall Group (1920-1924) is formed by English-speaking Montreal painters, many of them women (Prudence Heward, Lilias Torrance Newton, Sarah Robertson). Members often exhibited with the Group of Seven.

The Group of Seven (Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, A. Y. Jackson, Frank Johnston, Arthur Lismer, J.E.H. Macdonald, F. H. Varley) is officially founded and holds its first exhibition, at the Art Gallery of Ontario, Toronto.